Chamber Concert 1: Opening Night Celebration

Chamber Concert 1: Opening Night Celebration

July 19, 2024 - 7:30 PM

The 2024 SLO Summer Music Festival opens with two pieces by celebrated masters juxtaposed with two world premieres. A lovely string quartet by Haydn opens the program, followed by Scott Yoo’s “opus 1” composition for piano quartet, commissioned by Patricia Kohlen. Following this will be the premiere of Stewart Goodyear’s octet, commissioned by the Festival Mozaic Commissioning Consortium. Closing the concert is the sublime Piano Quintet by Finnish composer Jean Sibelius.

HAYDN - String Quartet in E-flat Major, op. 64/6
Steven Copes, Rannveig Marta Sarc, violins
Caitlin Lynch, viola; Dariusz Skoraczewski, cello

SCOTT YOO - Piano Quartet, op. 1 [World Premiere]
Stewart Goodyear, piano; Scott Yoo, violin
Maurycy Banaszek, viola; Sophie Shao, cello

STEWART GOODYEAR - Octet [World Premiere]
Eunice Kim, Stephanie Zyzak, Jason Uyeyama, Jisun Yang, violins
Jessica Oudin, Jessica Chang, violas
Ari Evan, Brian Thornton, cellos

SIBELIUS - Piano Quintet in G minor
John Novacek, piano
Erik Arvinder, Claire Bourg, violins
Jesse Morrison, viola; Alexander Hersh, cello

Scott Yoo's Piano Quartet, op. 1 is made possible by a generous commission from Patricia Kohlen.

Stewart Goodyear's Octet is made possible by the Festival Mozaic Commissioning Consortium.

Be the first to hear about upcoming events


* indicates required