Opening Night: Appalachian Spring

SAT, JUL 22, 2023

This event has sold out.  Call (805) 781-3009 or email to add your name to the waiting list.

💬 Pre-Concert Lecture at 6:30 PM with Dr. Alyson McLamore

To celebrate the opening of the 2023 Summer Music Festival Scott Yoo and the Festival musicians will join forces with the Movement Arts Collective for a new setting of Copland's Appalachian Spring, choreographed by Ryan Lawrence. Also on the program are Beethoven’s Spring sonata for violin and piano, a duet for violin and viola by Czech composer Martinu, and a work for voice and strings by Korean-American composer and Scott Yoo’s professor at Harvard, Earl Kim.
Sonata No. 5 in F major, op. 24 Spring
Scott Yoo, violin; John Novacek, piano
Three Madrigals, H. 313
Abigel Kralik, violin; Mathis Rochat, viola
Three Poems in French
Karol Bennett, soprano; Eunice Kim, Erik Arvinder, violins; Maurycy Banaszek, viola; Ani Aznavoorian, cello
Appalachian Spring Ballet for 13 Instruments
Scott Yoo, conductor
Ryan Lawrence, choreographer
Movement Arts Collective Company
Alice K. Dade, flute; Lin Ma, clarinet; Fei Xie, bassoon; John Novacek, piano; Maureen Nelson, Aurica Duca, Jason Uyeyama, Clinton Dewing, violins; Caitlin Lynch, Jessica Oudin, violas; Jonah Kim, Sophie Shao, cellos; Susan Cahill, double bass

Performed by arrangement with Boosey & Hawkes, Inc., publisher and copyright owner.

Presented in collaboration with:


Harold J. Miossi Cultural and Performing Arts Center at Cuesta College

Hollister Road at Highway 1
San Luis Obispo, CA 93405