Chamber Concert 4: A Soldier's Tale

FRI, JUL 28, 2023

Single Tickets on sale March 29. Tickets start at $29.

💬 Pre-Concert Lecture at 6:30 PM with Dr. Alyson McLamore

The 2023 Chamber Concert series comes to a close with a semi-staged performance of A Soldier's Tale, Stravinsky’s rhythmic setting of a cautionary story about a soldier who trades his fiddle to the devil. John Novacek opens the concert with Rachmaninoff’s march-like prelude for solo piano, which will be followed by Borodin’s cello quintet, one of the earliest Russian chamber works to feature nationalist themes.

Prelude in G minor, op. 23 no. 5
John Novacek, piano

Cello Quintet in F minor
Abigel Kralik, Erik Arvinder, violins; Ben Ullery, viola; Sterling Elliott, Jonah Kim, cellos

L’Histoire du Soldat (A Soldier's Tale)
Karin Hendricks-Bolen, director
Lin Ma, clarinet; Fei Xie, bassoon; Hayato Tanaka, trumpet; Ko-ichiro Yamamoto, trombone; Shannon Wood, percussion; Maureen Nelson, violin; Susan Cahill, double bass


Harold J. Miossi Cultural and Performing Arts Center

Cuesta College
Hollister Road at Highway 1

San Luis Obispo, CA 93405